Belangrijk: Voor deze bestemming gelden mogelijk COVID-19-reisbeperkingen, waaronder specifieke beperkingen voor accommodatie. Controleer alle nationale, lokale en gezondheidsadviezen voor deze bestemming alvorens te boeken.

Sluiten
Naar hoofdpagina.
Alle accommodaties in New York, New York, Verenigde Staten
1 kamer, 2 volwassenen

255West Guesthouse

3,5 sterren3,5 sterren
255 West 132nd St, New York, NY, 10027, Verenigde Staten
    8,8
    Fantastisch80 Al onze beoordelingen komen van gasten die daadwerkelijk in de accommodatie verbleven hebben.geverifieerde
    beoordelingen
    • 9.2Locatie
      • Prachtige locatie
    • 8.1Kamer
      • Prachtige kamer
      • Best comfortabel
    • 7.8Voorzieningen
      • Fantastische faciliteiten

    Wat gasten vertellen

      Alle beoordelingen:

      80 geverifieerde gastenbeoordelingen

      Gastenscore

      De volgende Engelse beoordelingen zijn geplaatst door gasten uit andere landen

      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 30 dec., 2019
      -We went for the ball drop on New Year’s Eve and the location was closer to timesquare than we expected (15-20 min walk/metro). Which was a great plus! -Of course the Harlem neighborhood has a bad rep, but I never felt unsafe. (& we were usually out until 2am on a holiday.) -James greeted us when we arrived and answered all of our questions. He is very amiable and knowledgeable about the location. -We did find street parking right in front of the house, but we decided to leave our car at a nearby garage. -The room looked just like the pictures, and the entire house is very elegant! -Overall, the guesthouse is very warm, cozy, and welcoming. It feels as if you’re visiting your fancy cool family member that lives in Harlem!
      Romantische reis van 2 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Expedia-gastenbeoordeling
      2,0MatigInchecken 28 dec., 2019
      Dirty room and EXTREMELY rude owner
      We came and were greeted. We were taken to our room and when we entered the room I saw that the room was very dusty and the carpet was very dirty. There was no comforter, rather only 3 little thin blankets. We ignored it because we assumed that if the owner did not clean before us he won’t clean now. When we came back for the night we realized that it was super cold. The heat was not working. For all three nights the heat was not working. We tried to contact the owner by phone one time and text message, no responses. My nose started running because of the cold. On my last night I had to wake up every 2 hours to clean my nose. In the morning right before left, I heard the heater start to work. I emailed the owner and asked him why did not turn the heat before. He replied with “ I didn't. The thermostat kicks on when needed.” After that he blamed us for not contacting him earlier. Which we did and were not able to reach him. To summarize: Rude Cheap person that keeps his thermostat very low to save money No ac controllers in the room Dusty room Dirty carpet This is first time when we did not have any instructions in the room and where blamed for not calling a lot. We were walking all day and came back only for the night. Last thing I wanted to do is keep calling the owner. Further more, after I contacted him on the last day, he proceeded to attack us over email. HIGHLY unprofessional.
      Reis van 3 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Hotels.com-gastenbeoordeling
      Antwoord van James
      It, of course, is not surprising that this guest remained anonymous. His passive aggressive behavior continues. Their arrival started with "Is it safe here?", which after running a guesthouse in Harlem for many years, I am quite aware of what that is code for. The guests made not effort to reach me. I was on premises all weekend, and have no missed calls, texts, nor emails. Instead they left a "frowny face", to which I replied within ten minutes. The room had been cleaned before their arrival. Due to the holiday, it had not been done by my regular cleaner. If there was concern, I was in no way alerted to it. I am far from "cheap", quite the opposite, actually. The thermostat is kept at 75 degrees. Most guests ask for it to be lowered. As the rooms are small in New York, we do not keep comforters in them, but they are available upon request. I not only informed the guest on arrival of my personal mobile, and asked that they contact me directly with ANY issue, but it is clearly written twice in the room, as well as in the lounge on the parlor.
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 20 okt., 2019
      Room was very nice, and as depicted in the picture of the room. James (the contact) was very accessible and meeting up with him to get the key to the guest house and our room went flawlessly. Appreciated that there was a mini fridge in the room—with a bottle of water! Would definitely stay here again.
      RisRomantische reis van 1 nacht
      Gecontroleerde Expedia-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 23 okt., 2019
      My stay here was awesome very comfortable
      Reis van 4 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Hotels.com-gastenbeoordeling
      4,0RedelijkInchecken 25 sep., 2019
      A bad night
      Huge roaches--host called them water bugs--said they were "alarming but not dangerous." Definitely alarming. Internet in guest room didn't work. I was invited by host to get his internet code but I didn't do it during waking hours. When I got up in the middle of the night to work, the internet didn't work and there were lots of huge roaches. I left as quickly as possible, at 5:30 AM, for an open coffee shop with working internet. Really glad to get out of there.
      Zakenreis van 1 nacht
      Gecontroleerde Hotels.com-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 3 okt., 2019
      It is an immaculate room. Our room had a bed and a trundle twin bed, both were extremely comfortable. The building is highly secured and it's in the historic Harlem district. James was awesome and available when I needed him for any reason. We stayed there one night. It is not really close to Time Square if you want to understand the location. We went to Radio City Music hall, and took a taxi, which became very expensive since traffic is heavy all the time. We also went to the Guggenheim museum and walked there. It was a little bit of a trek, but I enjoyed the walk after breakfast. James recommended the Renaissance restaurant down the block, and the food was excellent. We had French Toast which was marvelous. Pricey, but seriously excellent! Parking on the street is unlikely. I parked at the parking garage down the street which was great, not expensive and the men there were very nice. We had a great experience there. I loved staying in the brownstone apartment/room. It really is super immaculate and comfortable. *James, you need to clean the dust off the vents. haha. My OCD always has to notice one thing. Seriously though, thank you for everything! It's a lovely and comfortable room. I would stay there again without a doubt!
      KatGezinsreis van 1 nacht
      Gecontroleerde Expedia-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 3 okt., 2019
      Stayed in the Calliope room for one night, absolutely gorgeous room! Very cute little house the decor is amazing. The only thing about the room that wasn’t the best was that the WiFi connection for the TV wasn’t working too well and we couldn’t get it to work but overall the location is great, free street parking. Didn’t wake up to any tickets on my car. James is very sweet and helpful! Wonderful host. Would definitely stay here again
      Gezinsreis van 1 nacht
      Gecontroleerde Expedia-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 2 okt., 2019
      Who needs a hotel when this place is so wonderful?
      We really loved it. James the owner is a wonderful guy, helped us up with the luggage, answered all our questions, the room was just lovely, great bed, wonderful shower, so pleasant after a long drive into the city. The price was the most amazing thing because it was cheaper than just about any decent hotel in the city. Recommend it highly.
      ThomasReis van 1 nacht
      Gecontroleerde Hotels.com-gastenbeoordeling
      8,0Zeer goedInchecken 31 aug., 2019
      Great find, lovely decor, owner is terrific, excellent value
      Gezinsreis van 3 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Expedia-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 15 aug., 2019
      Great host, the room felt like home. Great location as well.
      Reis van 4 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Hotels.com-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 10 aug., 2019
      255W Guesthouse has a nice cozy and comfortable feel. I will stay again.
      Romantische reis van 1 nacht
      Gecontroleerde Orbitz-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 27 jun., 2019
      Great location, quiet, friendly owner. Perfect for what we needed. Would stay again.
      Gezinsreis van 3 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Expedia-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 19 jun., 2019
      Beautiful property Was a bit difficult to travel around at night It would be helpful to know the best way to get to the subway and the closest cafes Internet was spotty and slow at times Otherwise, a very pleasant stay (and more economical than a lot of other places in NYC. We would definitely come back again!
      MOGezinsreis van 4 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Expedia-gastenbeoordeling
      8,0Zeer goedInchecken 23 mei, 2019
      I liked it appeared we were the only couple there even though we were not. It is NYC brownstone living. I didn’t like the stairs even though we managed. I’m seventy one!!
      Romantische reis van 5 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Expedia-gastenbeoordeling
      8,0Zeer goedInchecken 19 mei, 2019
      there was no air conditioning in the room, and I could not figure out the coffee. I had never seen it like that before
      Gezinsreis van 1 nacht
      Gecontroleerde Expedia-gastenbeoordeling
      8,0Zeer goedInchecken 14 mei, 2019
      hidden gem
      the place was quaint. the decor was nice. check-in was a breeze, but we got the keys and that's it: no direction re: bath towels, so we rifled thru the dressers to find them. not a big deal, but for future reference, that should be pointed out or in the guest book. i liked that we didn't run into the owners or other guests during our stay. guest(s) above us and next door came in rather late and were insanely obnoxious and loud 2 of 3 nights, so that was frustrating. coffee service was nice to have, but the space is big enough to offer a microwave to heat up leftovers or have a morning oatmeal or popcorn for a movie, etc. this is not a negative to the guesthouse, it's simply a suggestion. really convenient, close to the Y, close to the metro which we took daily. just steps from lots of good eats, little markets, lq stores, pharmacies, etc.
      Gezinsreis van 3 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Hotels.com-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 9 apr., 2019
      location and place is fabulous. decorated with taste. I became sick during the trip and arrived late in the evening and the owner arranged to get me what I needed.
      Zakenreis van 2 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Orbitz-gastenbeoordeling
      8,0Zeer goedInchecken 9 apr., 2019
      The property was clean and securing the reservation easy. Large quiet accommodations.
      Reis van 2 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Expedia-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 4 apr., 2019
      Location's perfect; host's friendly and helpful but unobtrusive; far superior to staying in a hotel.
      TravelerRomantische reis van 3 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Expedia-gastenbeoordeling
      8,0Zeer goedInchecken 7 mrt., 2019
      Great stay
      Great place! Super quiet with all the amenities. Feels like staying with a friend.
      NyreeGezinsreis van 4 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Hotels.com-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 26 feb., 2019
      We were just in for the night but after seeing the place wish we could have stayed longer.
      SuzanneRomantische reis van 1 nacht
      Gecontroleerde Hotels.com-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 18 feb., 2019
      James (owner/super host) was super helpful with the check in process. Everything we needed to know (WiFi, keys, kitchen use etc) was very well explained. He left us his personal cell number and the place was extremely clean. I highly recommend staying here.
      Gezinsreis van 1 nacht
      Gecontroleerde Expedia-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 13 feb., 2019
      I had a very nice 2-night stay. James the owner was great. There's no front desk; he meets you at the house at your estimated arrival time. He showed me in, helped me with my bag and gave me a tour. Fortunately I had the whole place to myself! Very nice bathroom and kitchen. Be aware that it takes a little time for the hot water to kick in. I loved the toasty warm room. Later in the evening it cooled down and I texted James to ask how to turn up the heat a notch and he was able to do it remotely right away. I highly recommend this place!
      MikeZakenreis van 2 nachten
      Gecontroleerde CheapTickets-gastenbeoordeling
      4,0RedelijkInchecken 18 jan., 2019
      Needs to be busted..fridge was dirty .. rooms was dusty but place was nice
      Romantische reis van 3 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Expedia-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 3 jan., 2019
      MFI
      My wife and I had an excellent stay. If it were not for the coil bed the stay would have been Outstanding.
      BRENDAGezinsreis van 3 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Hotels.com-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 26 dec., 2018
      Quiet Luxury in Harlem
      255 West Guesthouse is in a lovely brownstone lose to great restaurants and Hamilton Heights hot spots. Our room, the Calliope, had a bed that was both gorgeous & incredibly comfortable. The window treatments were beautiful and practical as they were well lined which allowed us to sleep in. The private bathroom has a fully tiled shower, plenty of hot water, and good hotel size toiletries. With Netflix in the room and the lovely historic details, 255 West definitely felt like a home away from home. Our host, a former professional decorator of course (!) was charming and kind.
      micheleGezinsreis van 1 nacht
      Gecontroleerde Hotels.com-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 13 dec., 2018
      Charming - hip & stylish internal furnishings. Host very helpful. Highly recommended.
      Reis van 1 nacht
      Gecontroleerde Orbitz-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 3 dec., 2018
      James was a great host, beautiful room and comfy bed. We plan on coming back and checking out the other rooms!
      Reis van 1 nacht
      Gecontroleerde Orbitz-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 10 nov., 2018
      Had good time
      Syed AbdulZakenreis van 7 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Hotels.com-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 31 okt., 2018
      Wonderful stay
      I really enjoyed the room and the area.
      AngelaReis van 5 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Hotels.com-gastenbeoordeling
      6,0GoedInchecken 1 okt., 2018
      Property was ok, very little contact with owner but what we had was positive. wasn’t keen on the area.
      Reis van 5 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Expedia-gastenbeoordeling
      8,0Zeer goedInchecken 27 jul., 2018
      Great space, beautifully decorated in a great neighbourhood
      Reis van 4 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Expedia-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 14 mei, 2018
      What an amazing place.
      What an amazing place. It was stylish, comfortable, and well-located. James was a delight and went out of his way to make us welcomed. Will definitely stay here again.
      MaryGezinsreis van 3 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Hotels.com-gastenbeoordeling
      6,0GoedInchecken 5 mei, 2018
      Nice guesthouse, but need some refresh and care
      With super expensive hotels in New York, we found this place and were very happy. It was relatively cheap compare to other. It is a bit outside of touristic centre, but with very good connection to get to Manhattan by bus or subway. The guy who is running it is very pleasant, helpful and welcoming. We loved the house and our rooms. However, I think the rooms can do with a bit of fit out works.
      GuestReis van 4 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Expedia-gastenbeoordeling
      8,0Zeer goedInchecken 2 mei, 2018
      Pretty guesthouse in historic Harlem
      We were welcomed by our host, James, provided with clean, comfortable beds, bottles of water, and access to tea and coffee. The beautiful claw-foot tub had no shower, but did have a hand-held shower head with excellent water pressure. Plenty of towels and blankets were in the room. The ceiling fan and the ability to open the two large windows were welcome since the temperatures hit 90's the first day we were there. We did not hear guests in the other three rooms except for passing them in the hallway. We had a very comfortable stay.
      Reis van 3 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Orbitz-gastenbeoordeling
      8,0Zeer goedInchecken 28 apr., 2018
      fabulous hotel but not everything fabulous.
      Great access to central park and the train. Easy access to coffee and some restaurants was great. neighborhood is a bit scary, would be careful as a single female, but nothing really happened during my stay. While the rooms appear fabulous, mine had noise problems (street noise and heating pipes)/cleanliness (hair in bed/dirt on carpet).
      Overige reis
      Gecontroleerde Hotels.com-gastenbeoordeling
      8,0Zeer goedInchecken 28 apr., 2018
      fabulous hotel but not everything fabulous.
      Great access to central park and the train. Easy access to coffee and some restaurants was great. neighborhood is a bit scary, would be careful as a single female, but nothing really happened during my stay. While the rooms appear fabulous, mine had noise problems (street noise and heating pipes)/cleanliness (hair in bed/dirt on carpet).
      Overige reis
      Gecontroleerde Hotels.com-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 28 mrt., 2018
      This was a perfect type of lodging for what we needed. Simple, quiet, friendly, and comfortable. No "hotel" type of amenities were needed or wanted. The coffee and tea available anytime, and the use of the kitchen were nice however.
      StephenRomantische reis
      Gecontroleerde Hotels.com-gastenbeoordeling
      8,0Zeer goedInchecken 25 feb., 2018
      Nice and convenient guesthouse
      Comfortable and clean. Only, couldn't get the tv to work.
      Zakenreis
      Gecontroleerde Hotels.com-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 7 feb., 2018
      Everything was absolutely perfect.
      Everything was perfect. Just make sure u can carry your luggage because there are several floors and a lot of steps. Everything else was beautiful, clean, spacious, and perfect!
      julieReis van 3 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Expedia-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 12 dec., 2017
      Great independent guest house
      Some people might be put off by its location, but we never felt worried walking back in the evenings. Harlem seems to be going through a revival (much like areas of London) with lots of regeneration. James emailed me as soon as I made the booking, asking for my arrival time and encouraging me to ask any questions before arrival. James greeted us when we arrived and settled us in giving local information on restaurants and metro stops. The room we stayed in, Gino, was large and nicely decorated. When our flight was cancelled James let use his home phone to battle with BA. If you are looking for something different (with much larger rooms) away from the crowds of mid Manhattan its definately worth a look.
      markReis van 9 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Expedia-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 4 dec., 2017
      Fab Harlem boutique apartment
      This apartment is fab. We stayed in the Lily room and it was lovely, comfy and clean. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The area is a litre further out, but there are 3 subways within a 10 min walk so very accessible. Would highly recommend and stay again
      EmmaRomantische reis van 3 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Hotels.com-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 4 nov., 2017
      A beautiful boutique hotel in Harlem
      Was met at the door by the owner who insisted in carrying my biggest bag to the room. He explained everything about the hotel and, when requested, made recommendations on restaurants and site-seeing locations.
      ChristopherReis van 4 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Orbitz-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 25 aug., 2017
      Charming brownstone in Harlem
      Needed a place to stay up to moving my son into Columbia. Good rate, nicely decorated, great coffee. Nice coffee table book on Harlem Architecture. Nearby restaurants with great soul food and french food. Excellent brunch at The Edge. Close to Hamilton Grange National Park for Hamilfans!!! Walkable to Columbia so long as you aren't hauling luggage. Stairs up to room so that will take an effort. Comfortable room, extra bed rolls out. Lovely decor, great unobtrusive service.
      JackieGezinsreis van 3 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Hotels.com-gastenbeoordeling
      8,0Zeer goedInchecken 19 aug., 2017
      The rooms were clean and quiet. The owner James was available when needed and he was very nice.
      Romantische reis van 3 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Hotels.com-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 10 aug., 2017
      My wife loved our Brownstone
      we met james at the door upon our arrival and he was quite nice and helpful with advise about restaurants and music in the area. As soon as he left I looked at my wife and could tell immediately that she absolutely loved this place! If you are looking to get into Harlem culture, start here. I must warn you that television reception is not good, and the few hours we spent here resting were with Netflix. My ultimate goal whenever we travel is my wife's comfort and this more than exceeded my expectations
      SkinnerReis van 4 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Hotels.com-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 24 jul., 2017
      Great price, lots of character, awesome host!
      It had a lot of character and was relatively close to the subway and shopping areas in Harlem. The owner was so helpful and accommodating and was very easy to reach if we needed anything! The big soaker tub was nice and the beds were comfortable.
      AnnReis met vrienden van 4 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Hotels.com-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 15 jul., 2017
      255West Guesthouse was so much fun!
      We had a beautifully decorated but very functional room (Guilliame) and James provided great service. It was conveniently located between the 125St and 135St subways stops, so depending on where you were going lots of transit choices. I was able to find street parking the whole stay, but if not there is a parking garage just a block away.
      JenniferReis van 3 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Expedia-gastenbeoordeling
      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 3 jul., 2017
      Thank you
      Thanks for an awesome stay. The guesthouse was very close to bus stops and subway stations, I even used subway and train to and from JFK airport without any problem. I stayed in Lilly room, I loved the interior and coziness. James was a lovely host and he was able to accommodated my check-in time kindly. I adore Harlem neighborhood, was away from crowds of people, but still was lively. I would definitely stay at 255 guest house again when I visit NYC next time.
      MichikoReis van 3 nachten
      Gecontroleerde Hotels.com-gastenbeoordeling

      De volgende beoordelingen zijn geplaatst door hotelgasten uit andere landen

      10,0UitzonderlijkInchecken 5 dec., 2019
      Everything was great, James is amazing and very helpful.
      PetraReis van 1 nacht
      Gecontroleerde Hotels.com-gastenbeoordeling
      Helaas zijn er geen reizigersfoto’s van deze accommodatie.
      Beoordelingen en scores op deze site zijn de subjectieve meningen van klanten en leveranciers; zij vertegenwoordigen de mening van Hotels.com niet. Hotels.com noch de betrokken partijen bij het aanleveren van de beoordelingen zijn aansprakelijk voor enige schade van welke aard dan ook als gevolg van enig gebruik van deze beoordelingen